Chocolate Whey Protein Bars

chocolate whey protein bars 01

These easy Chocolate Whey Protein Bars are a variation of my Clean Protein Bars. I developed the recipe a while ago when I was having trouble finding good shop-bought bars. If you need to get some protein post-workout and aren't keen on protein shakes, these bars are a good alternative.

You will need to use a whey protein powder in this recipe. Its stickiness when mixed with water is what holds the bars together.

Whey protein isolate (WPI) or whey protein concentrate (WPC) will both work. If you're wondering about whether you should buy WPI and WPC, I previously wrote a post about the differences between the two.

If you are looking for some vegan protein bar recipes using a plant-based protein powder, you could try my Sour Cherry Vanilla Protein Bars or my Choc-Mint Protein Balls.

Chocolate Whey Protein Bars

Gluten free | Nut free

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup chocolate whey protein powder (I use Bare Blends Raw Cacao WPI) 
  • 3/4 cup oat flour *
  • 2 x 20ml tablespoons raw cacao powder (or cocoa powder)
  • 1 x 20ml tablespoon coconut flour
  • 1 x 20ml tablespoon extra virgin coconut oil, melted
  • 2 x 20ml tablespoons rice malt syrup
  • 1/4 cup water

Preparation:

  1. Tip the protein powder, oat flour, cacao powder and coconut flour into a bowl and mix to combine. Make a well in the centre and pour in the melted coconut oil, rice malt syrup and water.
  2. Using a large and sturdy spoon, stir everything together until well combined. (I recommend using a large and sturdy spoon because the mixture gets very thick and sticky so you'll need to use your muscles to stir everything until well combined. I used a thin metal spoon once and it ended up slightly bent). If the mixture is way too sticky, add a little extra coconut flour. If it's way too dry, add a little extra water.
  3. Break off pieces of the mixture and shape into bars in your hands. Leave them in the fridge to set. Store the bars in the fridge for up to 1 week.

Makes about 4 - 6 bars (depending on how large you want them).

* Oats naturally don't contain gluten, but as they are often processed on the same equipment as wheat, they can have traces of gluten. If you're strictly gluten-free, you can buy gluten-free oats and process them in a food processor to get a flour consistency.

chocolate whey protein bars 02